Kelly Manufacturing

National & World Ag News Headlines
Major Disaster Declaration for 51 MN Counties
USAgNet - 06/13/2019

Minnesota Governor Tim Walz announced Wednesday that he has secured a Major Disaster Declaration that will provide federal funds to aid in emergency relief for 51 counties and four tribal governments in Minnesota. Governor Walz sent a letter to the President on May 28 requesting the declaration after major flooding, blizzard conditions and gale-force winds combined to cause nearly $40 million dollars in infrastructure damage across the state. He also spoke to the President personally about the request when the President visited Minnesota this spring.

"The news of incoming federal disaster relief is welcome after an exceptionally difficult transition from winter to spring this past year," said Governor Walz. "Minnesota is on the road to recovery, and the assistance granted by this declaration will expedite that process enormously."

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) authorized the use of federal public assistance funds to reimburse affected communities for response and recovery costs. FEMA will pay 75 percent of eligible expenses and the state will cover the 25 percent non-federal share from the Disaster Assistance Contingency Account.

Minnesota counties and Tribal Nations covered under the Major Disaster Declaration include: Big Stone, Blue Earth, Brown, Chippewa, Clay, Cottonwood, Dodge, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Grant, Houston, Jackson, Kittson, Lac Qui Parle, Le Sueur, Lincoln, Lyon, Mahnomen, Marshall, Martin, McLeod, Mower, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Norman, Olmsted, Pennington, Pipestone, Polk, Ramsey, Red Lake, Redwood, Renville, Rock, Roseau, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wabasha, Waseca, Washington, Watonwan, Wilkin, Winona, and Yellow Medicine Counties and the Prairie Island Indian Community, Red Lake Band of Chippewa, Upper Sioux Community, and the White Earth Nation.

The Major Disaster Declaration makes several types of federal aid available to Minnesota communities for flood and storm damage recovery.

Public Assistance Aid -- Financial assistance to state and local governments for the immediate emergency work accomplished within the community, and repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. The 51 Minnesota communities and 4 Tribal Nations listed above are covered under Public Assistance Federal Aid.

Hazard Mitigation Grant Program -- Assistance to state and local governments for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards. All counties in Minnesota are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

Send this article to a friend

Other National Headlines
Meyer Manufacturing
Copyright © 2020 - All Rights Reserved.