JM Innovations

National & World Ag News Headlines
U.S. Reps Reiterate Support for Biofuels, Reducing CO2
USAgNet - 02/27/2020

U.S. Reps. Angie Craig (MN-02) and Dave Loebsack (IA-02) delivered a letter signed by 11 members on the bipartisan Congressional Biofuels Caucus urging the Select Committee on Climate Crisis to include biofuels as a cost-effective and readily available solution for further decarbonization.

"The Select Committee must consider the declining carbon intensity of biofuels, as well as future decreases that can bring biofuels near net-zero emissions by 2050," wrote the Members. "Ethanol's carbon intensity is declining due to improved efficient farming practices and increased crop productivity that uses existing crop land efficiently and is not producing land cover change."

"With greater biofuel use, transportation costs and Greenhouse Gas emissions can both be reduced without causing economic harm to families," the Members continued. "We urge the Select Committee to support expanded use of low-carbon biofuels as a cost-effective solution for further decarbonization that can be implemented now."

Craig and Loebsack were joined by House Agriculture Committee Chairman Collin Peterson of Minnesota, and U.S. Reps. Cheri Bustos of Illinois, Jeff Fortenberry and Don Bacon of Nebraska, Abby Finkenauer and Cindy Axne of Iowa, Emanuel Cleaver II of Missouri, Ruben Gallego of Arizona, and Marcy Kaptur of Ohio.

Craig remains committed to combating climate change. Craig is a cosponsor of the Energy Innovation and Carbon Dividend Act and has introduced the Resilience Revolving Loan Fund Act to give local communities the tools they need to combat climate change through local infrastructure. Additionally, she has remained committed to protecting the Renewable Fuel Standard and our domestic biofuels markets.

Send this article to a friend

Other National Headlines
Grand View Safety Grooving
Copyright © 2020 - All Rights Reserved.