Southern Indiana Supply

Nebraska Ag News Headlines
NDA Announces Nebraska Ag Youth Council Members
Nebraska Ag Connection - 11/07/2018

The Nebraska Department of Agriculture (NDA) today announced its selection of the 2018-2019 Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council (NAYC). NAYC members are college students that work throughout the year promoting Nebraska agriculture and teaching young students about agriculture and the many careers available in the agricultural industry. NDA sponsors the NAYC and its activities throughout the year.

"The NAYC is a talented group of hard-working young men and women who make a positive difference in the lives of Nebraska youth and the ag industry they serve," said NDA Director Steve Wellman. "The NAYC is the future of agriculture, and I look forward to working with these students and supporting them in their efforts."

The NAYC is entering its 48th year with the installation of this Council. Throughout the year, Council members coordinate and participate in a wide range of activities and events that focus on agriculture. Council members visit elementary schools to talk about where food comes from, take urban youth on farm tours to experience life on a farm, and visit with high school students about career opportunities in agriculture. The primary focus of the NAYC is to coordinate the annual Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute (NAYI), a five-day summer conference for high school juniors and seniors that is full of speakers, workshops and networking opportunities.

This year's Council is comprised of 21 young men and women. The 2018-2019 NAYC leadership includes:

- Head Counselors: Hannah Settje, Raymond, and Collin Swedberg, Wallace;

- President: Brent Miller, Lyons;

- Secretary: Grant Dahlgren, Bertrand;

- Vice President of Promotions: Jacob Schlick, Fairfield;

- Vice President of Alumni Relations: Cooper Grabenstein, Smithfield;

- Vice President of Communications and Social Media: Emily Frenzen, Fullerton;

- Vice President of Sponsorship: Sage Williams, Eddyville;

- Vice President of Youth Outreach: Cheyenne Gerlach, DeWitt; and

- Vice President of NAYI Improvement: Courtney Nelson, Monroe.

Additional NAYC members include: Colin Ibach, Sumner; Colton Thompson, Eustis; Eric Leisy, Wisner; Felicia Knoerzer, Elwood; Isaac Stallbaumer, Oconto; Kelli Mashino, Spencer; Kelsey Loseke, Blair; Kevin Sousek, Malmo; Nick Birdsley, Omaha; Ralston Ripp, Kearney; and Wesley Wach, Hayes Center.

To learn more, visit NAYI's website at or search for Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute on Facebook.

Send this article to a friend

Other Nebraska Headlines
L&L Sales and Service
Sheah Auguers/SD Ellenbecker
Copyright 2019 - All Rights Reserved.