National Dairy Shrine

Nebraska Ag News Headlines
USDA Designates 6 Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas
Nebraska Ag Connection - 10/15/2020

Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated six Nebraska counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Colfax, Cuming, Dawes, Dodge, Stanton and Thurston counties who suffered losses caused by recent drought may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous counties listed below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:

Nebraska: Box Butte, Burt, Butler, Dakota, Dixon, Douglas, Madison, Pierce, Platte, Saunders, Sheridan, Sioux, Washington and Wayne

Iowa: Monona and Woodbury

South Dakota: Fall River and Oglala Lakota

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is May 11.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Other Nebraska Headlines
Easy Way Cattle Care
Professional Dairy Producers Foundation
Copyright © 2020 - All Rights Reserved.